Graduation week and a request for your ideas

Later this month UAL holds its annual graduation ceremonies at the Royal Festival Hall – eight ceremonies over four consecutive days, in which we say thank you, goodbye and good luck to our graduating students. It’s an exciting and emotional time, when we share the pride of graduates and their families, and see whole cohorts of courses and Colleges come together for one last time.

As you can probably imagine, it’s a massive operation and my gratitude as ever goes to all the staff who plan and organise the ceremonies and work extremely hard to make sure they go like clockwork.

Drama Centre alumnus Colin Firth receives an honorary fellowship

As well as celebrating the great achievements of our students, we also use these ceremonies to award honorary degrees and fellowships to people further along in their careers, who have made worthy contributions to the creative sector. You can see a full list of this year’s honourees here.

We are now beginning to plan the 2013 ceremonies and would very much welcome ideas from staff about people who deserve to receive an honour from UAL. All thoughts are welcome so please do post your suggestions below.

This year’s ceremonies will also include the formal presentation of awards to members of staff who have made particularly outstanding contributions to teaching and the student experience. I will post more details about the winners and their achievements after graduation week.

2 Responses to “Graduation week and a request for your ideas”

  1. Bill Webb Says:

    July 11th, 2012 at 9:31 am

    Dear Nigel,

    Many thanks for your invitation to suggests people for future honorary awards. I have already informally mentioned Derek Lovelock to colleagues at LCF. I have known Derek for 30 years since working with him at Storehouse (Richards). He has been the unsung hero of the UK fashion industry for many years. I think he started his career at C&A. When at Sears Womenswear he supported the start of our BA Fashion Management (Part Time) at LCF and as Exec Chairman at Aurora has supported The Oasis Prize for 12 years. We have not always seen eye-to-eye (he is a merchant and I am a strategist), but I have a deep respect for him and he deserves recognition. Pls give me feedback on this in due course. Thx. Bill Webb (07768 453169 – based at HH).

  2. Kelly Marshall Says:

    July 12th, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    Dear Nigel,
    I would like to nominate Film Producer David Parfitt for a future honorary award. I have know David for a number of years and he is an avid supporter of MA Screenwriting. David has been an independent film producer for the past 25 years – and he won the Academy Award for Best Picture for Shakespeare in Love. David has been Chairman of the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) and has produced (or associate produced) many British films including Henry V, Peter’s Friends, Swan Song, Much Ado About Nothing, The Madness of King George, Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, Twelfth Night, The Wings of the Dove, Shakespeare in Love, Gangs of New York, I Capture the Castle, Chasing Liberty, A Bunch of Amateurs and My Week with Marilyn. He is currently Chairman of Film London, the main film agency for London who also run the British Film Commission.

    I would also like to nominate producer Timothy Burrill. Timothy is a real gentleman who has also supported MA Screenwriting for a number of years now. Timothy has worked on films such as Laurence Olivier’s THREE SISTERS, CHARIOTS OF FIRE, THE FOURTH PROTOCOL, Roman Polanski’s MACBETH, SWEET KILLING, Oscar-nominated TESS, Oscar winner THE PIANIST, CHARIOTS OF FIRE, OLIVER TWIST, RENAISSANCE, BAFTA and Oscar winner LA VIE EN ROSE to name but a few. I have a huge respect for Timothy and I truly believe he deserves this recognition.

    It would be great to hear your thoughts 07780-917626
    Take care
    Kelly Marshall

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>